Garden Club

All garden club meetings been suspended pending resolution of the Coronavirus Outbreak

Click here for link to latest Government advice

The Garden Club meet on the second Wednesday of each month at 7.30pm in the Johnson Room.
Each month we invite an expert to speak on a variety of gardening topics and we organise a number of garden outings.

Back to top



Wednesday 11th September
7.30 pm Club AGM
7.45 pm Alistair Baldwin, Garden Designer, Ripon. Alistair will discuss the creation of the rose garden at Wynyard Hall and selects favourite roses for different situations.

Wednesday 9th October
7.30 pm Alan Chalk, horticulturist, Harrogate.
‘The changing face of commercial horticulture – from plant nursery to scale production and garden centre’.

Thursday 31st October,
1.00 pm Club visit to Stewart Park, Middlesbrough, with Jim Moody.
Behind the scenes – visit areas rarely accessible to the public!

Wednesday 13th November
7.30 pm Michael Myers, Harrogate.
Plant a tree; Michael presents and advises on a selection of trees for small gardens, smaller spaces and containers.

Wednesday 11th December
Christmas Special
7.30 pm Keeley Metcalfe, Northallerton.
Keeley constructs seasonal decorations using a widely available material.
Festive drinks and nibbles. Charity raffle. Visitors £5.00

Wednesday 22nd January 2020
Note the date (3rd Wednesday in January)
7.30 pm. Karen Greenwood, Gardener. English Heritage.
Karen will give an illustrated presentation on the re-development of the Arts and Crafts Garden at Mount Grace Priory.

Wednesday 12th February
7.30 pm. Phil Cormie, Head Gardener, Himalayan Garden.
Calcifuges – the lime haters: azaleas, camellias, rhodos etc; in the spectacular gardens at Grewelthorpe. Phil offers advice on cultivation.

Wednesday 11th March
7.30 pm. Paul Cook, Curator, RHS Harlow Carr.
‘Climate change’. Paul considers some of the available evidence and identifies some implications for horticultural practice.

Wednesday 8th April
7.30 pm. Neil and Sue Huntley, Hartside Nursery, Alston.
Alpines and hardy perennials grown on the roof of England.
A selection of plants for sale.

Thursday 9th July 6.15pm
Garden Visit to Thorneycroft
Club Visit to ‘Thorneycroft’ Rainton, with Martin and Jill Fish.

Committee membership:
Chairman: Ron Pearce
Deputy Chair: John Kay
Treasurer: Jean Noble
Programme Secretary: George Reid
Publicity: Marian McDonald and Mike Toogood.
RHS Liaison: Jean Holmes
Refreshment coordinator: Jenny Bromley


Charitable donations 2019 : £100 to Northdale Horticulture, Northallerton.